Posted · Large Part

Hello everybody, I'm a French student in Mechanical Engineering, I would like to ask you a question about the Ultimaker 2 of 3D Print. I did lot of test of Large part and I meet the same problem, which is the thickness. I want  to have a thickness of 15 mm but I get a thickness of 6mm. I don't understand why the 3D print continues its trajectory without extruding wire. I notices the wire don't go out of the nozzle, I notice also the groove on the outside of the engine remove a small part of the wire that's why the wire isn't extrude. 

I would like to ask you if there is specific parameter to be set in the 3D print, or on the sleecer ( conversion software between the CAD and the 3D print) . 

I  join you a picture to better understand the situation. 

thumbnail?appId=YMailNorrin&downloadWhenThumbnailFails=true&pid=2

Posted · Large Part

I don’t see the picture, but from what I understand your nozzle clogged and then the feeder is grinding the filament.

I would advise to clean the nozzle (google: atomic pull or cold pull) and maybe also clean the feeder if it happens again.

The main reasons for this issue is printing to fast and/or printing not hot enough. Try starting with Cura’s default profiles and you should be fine.

Finally, do you have an Ultimaker2 (with the small black feeder) or an ultimaker2+ (white feeder) if its still the old black feeder I would advise to upgrade with a bondtech feeder.

Posted · Large Part
18 minutes ago, ultiarjan said:

I don’t see the picture, but from what I understand your nozzle clogged and then the feeder is grinding the filament.

I would advise to clean the nozzle (google: atomic pull or cold pull) and maybe also clean the feeder if it happens again.

The main reasons for this issue is printing to fast and/or printing not hot enough. Try starting with Cura’s default profiles and you should be fine.