Cura Profile for custom printer - help and advice needed

derei

Posted · Cura Profile for custom printer - help and advice needed

Hi all!

I'm Andrew, fresh owner of my first ever 3d printer (Geeetech MeCreator2) and I'm already exploring beyond click and print.
After trying several software, I concluded Cura is the one I should focus my attention on, as it allows me the most control. So, I started to build a Cura Profile for the MeCreator2, starting from the "fdmprinter.def.json" file... so far so good, but there is a lot of parameters to set and I am not so sure how to interpret some of them.

I was wondering if this is the right place to ask for help, because there will be some incremental help as I am going on with stuff.

And, if the request is not too much, once I finish the profile, if someone here owns a Geeetech MeCreator2 and would like to look over the profile, to check it with an expert eye, that would also be a big help.

Disclaimer: - i'm totally new in 3d printing, learning on the go... so please be gentle with me, and slang that might be obvious for you guys, it might be completely new for me.
Thank you for understanding.

This is the right place. And you cant really do a profile for a printer. A profile should be filament specific. For example you can print PLA much faster than TPU and ABS requires a much higher temperature than PLA. Also retraction (retracting filament, because its expanding, to avoid stringing) is not always the same. So you could create a profile for Filament, but not for a printer. And you also dont need every single settin. I would start by printing a few things and than "adding" a few settings, one after another. You can get great prints even with the standart settings, but a profile would increase the quality of a print a little.