Jump to content
Ultimaker Community of 3D Printing Experts

Disable print removed confirmation message


Recommended Posts

Posted · Disable print removed confirmation message

Hello,

 

Is there any way to disable the print removed confirmation message on the ultimaker 3? I never forget to remove my print but do forget to press the confirmation message sometimes, as it takes some time to appear. And the next print i send via wifi won't start after i press the message. Maybe there is a way via ssh to disable it? Or at least a way to confirm it remotely?

 

20190901_135801.thumb.jpg.3cfd246ec1662758cba5336c18553822.jpg

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted · Disable print removed confirmation message

It is a safety feature to prevent starting a print when possibly an object is still present on the build plate, this would cause mayhem.

 

For the above reason we never created a way to overrule this feature but more requests are coming in, so perhaps in a future firmware update...

 

How daring are you to make changes on the printer itself? Since you mention SSH I assume you have some Linux knowledge?

On the printer is a configuration file where you can make low level changes, but there is no official support for this modification.

In the file /usr/share/griffin/griffin/machines/um3.json there is at line 149:

    "PRINT": ["print.printProcedure.PrintProcedure"],

Change this to

    "PRINT": ["print.printProcedure.PrintProcedure", "cleanup_step": "false"],

 

THIS IS NOT AN OFFICIAL SUPPORTED CHANGE! 

In fact, I don't have a printer here and didn't test it working.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted · Disable print removed confirmation message

Unfortunately the modification does not work.

Screenshot4.thumb.png.388cb8289994219a925897a7e4f4905a.png

The clickwheel led keeps blinking and the printer won't boot. After removing the extra value the printer boots up again. The printer has the latest firmware (5.2.11.20190503).

 

I do understand the importance of the warning, especially for more chaotic places like schools or workplaces where more than 1 person is using the machine. But for me it is only an extra step that makes my workflow more difficult and time consuming.

 

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites
    Posted · Disable print removed confirmation message

    Sorry to hear the modification didn't work.

    Instead of posting another change that might not work either, you'll have to wait for me to return home later this week. Perhaps I can figure out another change but want to test it out on my machine first.

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites
    • 3 months later...
    Posted · Disable print removed confirmation message

    I found a solution that worked.

     

    In the file: /usr/share/griffin/griffin/printer/procedures/print/printProcedure.py

    Add "cleanup_step = False" after line 103 (cleanup_step = arg.get("cleanup_step", "True") == "True")

    cleanup_step will be always false now regardless of what it reads in the configuration file.

    There should be 8 spaces before cleanup_step, 2 tabs won't work.

    Optionally you can also add "allow_reprint = False". This disables the reprint message after aborting a print.

     

    92291619_cleanupstep.thumb.png.88e2cf6caf0d7ea57585af0f0842b779.png

     

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites
    • 1 month later...
    Posted · Disable print removed confirmation message

    Hi

     

    One intermediate solution - put a button into the Cura / monitor / remote manager interface to clear the message. More or less:

     

    User goes to load the new print via Cura

    Notices the "is build plate clear" warning 

    Looks at the camera and sees that the plate is empty

    Hits the button to clear the message 

     

    Still "safe" and it eliminates the long walk down three floors to push a button on the printer. 

     

    Indeed I *have* started a print on top of an old one. The result was not at all pretty. The damage to the printer was not massive but it did take a while to fix. 

     

    Bob

    • Like 1
    Link to post
    Share on other sites
    Posted · Disable print removed confirmation message

    I almost printed on top of another print because there were 2 print jobs in the queue. Still prefer being more careful over having to dismiss the message every time. It would indeed be nice if it was possible to dismiss the message in cura. However you can't always see the object on the build plate if the object is short on the ultimaker 3 extended. Maybe with utlimaker 3 it is always visible. A warning without the camera might be good enough.

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites
    Posted · Disable print removed confirmation message

    Hi

     

    I run a second camera on my UM3ext because you really can't see everything with the one stock camera. 

     

    Generally when I see the message, the response is  "I took it off, it's right here  in my hand". There is no need to see the build plate 🙂

     

    Bob

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites
    Posted · Disable print removed confirmation message

    I do agree that this message can ben somehow annoying... There's a camera on the ultimaker, could'nt the system worke with some image recognition? (Yes I know that's a lot of work... But ultimaker printers are really expensive these kind of feature would help to explain the price)

     

    What I also find annoying is that if I confirm the print removed message before powering off the printer, when I reboot it the message is back... And while the boot sequence takes really long I sometimes go to make something else and then forget to clear the message...

    • Like 1
    Link to post
    Share on other sites
    Posted · Disable print removed confirmation message

    Hi

     

    Did that image recognition stuff for a living in another life ( = *many* years ago). Getting it to work right with the limited camera view would mean moving the build plate while shooting pictures. The CPU in these printers really isn't very big. I doubt you would get the job done.

     

    For great big prints - sure, you can spot them. For a thin print of a couple layers .... not so easy. Throw in things like tape on the build plate and it all gets really hard. 

     

    Bob

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites
    Posted · Disable print removed confirmation message

    Not being able to override this message is especially frustrating now that so much work is done remotely. For example the skeleton crew at my office did not remember to hit the button before they left so now I'm unable to start any of the big weekend prints.

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites
    Posted · Disable print removed confirmation message

    I'm using Putty under Windows 10 (via Parallels 15 on my Mac Pro) and keep getting "Permission Denied".  User: root and Password: Ultimaker  --  Any idea as to why?

    UM3X root.PNG

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites
    Posted · Disable print removed confirmation message

    Try a small "u"

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites
    Posted (edited) · Disable print removed confirmation message

    Well, I gained access, but further down on the command line you’ll notice the “Permission Denied” after I enter the lines (cut/paste) from a few posts above.

    BF8EEEB0-E4A9-4D05-8F35-0951FEDF3B27.jpeg

    Edited by ColoRich
  • Link to post
    Share on other sites
    Posted · Disable print removed confirmation message

    Um .. those files seems to be not executable, and they don't need to. I assume you intended to open them in an editor and for that I would use vi. But it can be a bit difficult to use and many find nano quite a bit easier to understand. If it's installed (my UM3 is not online atm so can't check).

     

    But why are you connecting using PuTTy in a W10 VM running on a MacOS machine? Whouldn't it be a bit easier to just run ssh directly in Terminal.app? 😉 

     

    Would be something like (if nano is available):

    $ ssh -l root <ip-of-your-printer>
    Password:
    # nano <full-path-to-file-to-edit>

     

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites
    Posted (edited) · Disable print removed confirmation message

    nano is not installed on the printer, try:

    vi <full-path-to-file-to-edit>

    Then hit insert to enter edit mode, make your changes, hit the ESCape key to enter command mode and type ":wq" to write the file  and quit the editor.

     

    you can also install nano via apt.

    Edited by robinmdh
  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Create an account or sign in to comment

    You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

    Create an account

    Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

    Register a new account

    Sign in

    Already have an account? Sign in here.

    Sign In Now
    ×
    ×
    • Create New...