S5 direct cover for moisture protection

Posted · S5 direct cover for moisture protection

Hello,

I am new to Ultimaker and 3D-Printing.

I am interested in Nylon/pva printing.

I read a lot here about problems with filament drying and moisture protection.

There are solutions like Polybox from Polymaker.

But when using that,the original filament holder is unused.

No use of NFC- filament detection.

So wouldn't it be better to build a cover that is attached to the S5 back.

It would contain a silicea pack and would hold the spools dry in their original positions.

By the way: For the price of an S5 it would even nicer if Ultimaker build such filament cabinet into the S5 unit.

Regards

Hans-Peter

I use the Polybox which is simple but works great. I have no need to use the NFC function, it only detects the spool when loading but you can also choose the material manually. There is no more difference or other functionality behind the NFC detection.

I think I have seen a DIY box for the back of the printer somewhere on Thingiverse. But I don't think it will be so airtight that it works like a Polybox. They use just a IKEA Box with some printed parts.

A dedicated dry box from Ultimaker which fits nicely on the printer would be great, but I don't know the roadmap if such a box is planned. On the other hand, the S5 has an extension port on the back. So maybe we will see some addons in the future.

I print a lot of Nylon and PVA works extremely well with Nylon.

I bought a box of 2 gallon zip locks.  I keep one or two spools in each bag.  I also bought these:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01JOPJ0HA/ref=cm_sw_em_r_mt_dp_U_pGpDDb61T4H25

Which are rechargable.  When they lose their red color I microwave them.