Bird's nest with PLA

kshanahan

Posted · Bird's nest with PLA

I am new to 3D printing and we have an older model Ultimaker 2. I have read some of the forum/expert posts and am a little overwhelmed as to why some of our designs will print find and others will fail after 1 hour of printing. I tested a few small designs, and the PLA and nozzle seem to working fine. When I tried this design, it started loosing its layering after about 1 hour into the 3 hour printing.

Is this something I can prevent with my Cura settings? I think I had them set as the default, with 20% infill. 

Ultimaker 2 bee hive.jpg

Your problem, I think, is adhesion to the glass bed. 

For this you should adjust the distance between nozzle and print bed again and make the distance slightly smaller. Furthermore the glass should be clean and free of grease. Additionally I use a UHU stick which I roughly apply to the glass and then spread with a damp cloth to a thin film. Then the object holds firmly on the plate and when the printing bed has cooled down, it can be easily loosened.

Thank you for the quick reply! I have been using a regular glue stick, so that may be the issue. I have the nozzle height pretty close, so I am not sure it is the distance.

Can I ask what you recommend cleaning the glass with after printing? We use a scraper to lift the prints - and they come up easily, but there is some residue on the glass. Maybe I should try heating the glassbed and cleaning?

A lot of glue sticks are working so if you use one, then keep it, no need to change to UHU.

Then I guess your bed leveling is not the best, try to level more closer to the glass. Put a sheet of paper under the nozzle and level until you feel a bit (or a bit more) of resistance when you move the paper.

I don't clean the glass very often, but when I just clean it with soap and water, rub it dry, put some glue stick on it and then I print dozens of prints until I feel I need to clean again.