Newbie question: Why part of my object does not have top, bottom or walls?

jariiko

Posted · Newbie question: Why part of my object does not have top, bottom or walls?

Does anybody have an idea what went wrong here? For some reason part of the object I was trying to print failed to print correctly and I can’t figure out why. As you can see from the picture, the upper part of the object does not really have top, bottom or walls. It’s mainly just some fluffy plastic junk. I’m a complete beginner and this was the second time I tried 3d printing, so maybe there is some obvious thing that I just don’t see yet.

I designed the object in Tinkercad, sliced the stl with Cura 4.3. and used Ultimaker 3 in a local library. The material was PLA through 0,4 mm nozzle. I had the wall thickness as 1 mm as well as top/bottom thickness and the layer height was 0,15 mm. The object consists basically of two blocks. Lower block (with three separate small cylinders) is created straight from an svg in Tinkercad. Upper block, which failed to print, is multiple small boxes with rounded corners grouped together with the grouping tool. I did this to make the radius of the corners independent of the length of the side. I also grouped the upper and lower blocks together. I don’t know if this is of any relevance, but the two blocks had different colors in Tinkercad.

Here’s a link to the design in Tinkercad: https://www.tinkercad.com/things/iVaISPunbg9/edit?sharecode=4tjiM63O1_z6531hpP3psR9P5ryCa0o86oVnGYGl_J8=

20191109_142328_2MP.thumb.jpg.a462d69477735d84961eebea2d6b04ff.jpg

Thank you for your help in advance!

Posted · Newbie question: Why part of my object does not have top, bottom or walls?

There are 2 obvious possibliities:

1) Something wrong with model.

2) Something wrong with printer (underextruded).

Because this is a dual color print I suspect #1.  What does your part look like in PREVIEW mode?