Help understanding PVA support settings

JD-Art

Posted · Help understanding PVA support settings

Hi my name is John. And I'm new here to the forum. 🙂

I have been working with 3D printing for some years on a hobby level, mainly on a Prusa.
And just recently upgraded to a dual head Ultimaker printer.

So I'm totally new to Pva support. and have a question I hop to get some help whit.

Using Cura 4.4.1
Im trying to make full support of the Pva "Good tight squise 😉

Support Z, Top and Bottom distance. all set to 0
Support x/y distance set to 0

"I think its a problem whit my stair height, but not 100% sure"
Support stair height set to 0 (default 0.1 gives same result)

Expectations settings all to 0 its a print where the Pla and Pva has no air between them. eg.

01.thumb.png.f740f0494010ec896c5177de11ccc455.png

Green: Pla, Yellow: Pva

But most the time I get this. dual layered pva with pla squished on top of it

02.thumb.png.4c800eda262b8d56a8429047cf60a4e6.png

Sorry for the image quality

03.thumb.png.5df2c0cdde7d3b56afc25f6e0af5a0e2.png

Looking Forward to hearing any suggestions.

I do not have a dual nozzle printer, so no personal experience. But I do vaguely remember that supports might be printed at double layer-height, or beginning from a thicker minimum, or something like that, since it does not melt so nice as PLA. So, if the PVA would print at 0.2mm layers, and PLA at 0.1, you might get this effect. Could be an explanation. But I am not sure, it is just a vague memory, you need to check. Maybe you could search for this and find more info?

Hej Geert
    Thanks for the reply. I'm not sure this is the problem, as far as I can see both extruders have 1.0 layer height set in Cura.  "don't know if Cura have some hidden setting overwriting this?"

When looking at the print, to me it looks like its the same layer height. the Pva just prints every other layer double.