Thick8

Everything is about .4 mm too big

Posted (edited) · Everything is about .4 mm too big

Hi All,

Total NOOB to making here so please be gentle.

I’m making some interlocking pieces. Basically a rectangular box made from 6 panels with tabs around the edges. I printed one out to measure; the overall measurement of the piece is .4mm bigger and all the tabs around the outside edges are .4mm wider than specified. And the area between the tabs is about .3mm narrower than specified. STL attached.
I printed it with a .4mm nozzle using the default .2 mm print setting. If I print it using the fine setting can I expect better results? I have smaller nozzles but I can't select the size I have in the core drop-down. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks 

John

front.stl

Edited by Thick8

Posted · Everything is about .4 mm too big

I printed the first few layers at .1mm, Same issue.

Is a printer similar to a CNC cutter? It would seem that the amount in excess is half the width of the line width x2 for an outside measurement. Do I need to take line width into account? Is there a way (like with a CNC) to choose "inside the line" instead of "on the line" so it will make the necessary adjustments in the software?

The nozzle width is compensated for by cura.  For example if you slice a cube that is 100mm on a side, the nozzle will traverse 99.6mm along each edge because it is printing inward towards the center of the cube by 0.2mm on all 4 sides (0.2 is the nozzle radius).

1) where did you measure your part - the bottom layer or two will usually stick out - this is important to get the part to stick well to the glass.  You can fix this (and I usually do) by setting "initial horizontal expansion" to around -0.25.

2) What kind of printer is this?  I might change all my answers depending on what printer you have