Help, Halfway during print job, the PLA stops extruding. What setting can affect this

Posted · Help, Halfway during print job, the PLA stops extruding. What setting can affect this

Hi, 

I am new to 3D printing. I bought Ultimaker 2+ last week. It came with 2.85 mm spool and worked great. Yesterday I changed to generic PLA (Hatchback 1.75mm) that I have and it seems to print OK for first several layer but then nothing comes out of nozzle after ~15-25% of print job. Nozzle keeps moving but nothing is coming out.. When I restart the job same thing happen at different point. I changed to another new PLA spool but saw the same result.

I am assuming my CURA setting for material is wrong but not sure which one. I did change the diameter of material (diameter - 1.75mm, retraction distance 5.5mm, retraction speed 25mm/sec). Is there cura profile for 1.75mm spool that I can find.

Oh I also moved to use Octoprint (reprep profile). I am now backtracking to find the root cause but it will be helpful to know what all can cause such issues

Can you help suggest what I may be doing wrong here

Thanksyou for your help

Posted · Help, Halfway during print job, the PLA stops extruding. What setting can affect this

Hi Alokpant,

The Ultimaker is made for 2.85. it is possible to print with 1,75, but this will never be reliable unless you modify your printer itself. Make sure you use 2,85 filament. Hope this helps.

@alokpant - please don't print 1.75mm filament in an Ultimaker printer.  There are conversion kits but you will get the best results if you stick with "3mm" (actually 2.85 to 2.9mm) filament.

Thankyou. Yes I was not aware of it and just assumed. After few google search I came to same conclusion.  Thanks again for help