another UMS5 print accuracy problem thread

ganadyne

Posted · another UMS5 print accuracy problem thread

Hello,

I've been using a Prusa i3 mk3s for about 6 months making custom IC shipping containers and decided to upgrade to an S5 a little under a month ago. I've had issues with interlocking prints being oversized, which is pretty well documented around this forum. Most people recommend simply using a negative horizontal expansion value to bring the print size closer to the .STL size. While I have some success using a -0.1mm horizontal expansion value for outer dimensions, my model has some fine 0.4 mm wide lines on the surface which get completely removed by using this horizontal expansion value. I have to say, this is very disappointing. I will echo the many other reports I have seen of people running into XY dimensional accuracy issues with this printer and say that I am very surprised a Prusa mk3s produces much more accurate prints with less work. At this point I would not recommend anyone purchase the S5 if dimensional accuracy is important to them.

It seems like a software or firmware fix would be appropriate to solve this issue; does UM plan to address this issue, or are there any plugins that will adjust outer and inner walls only and leave single wall features alone?

Thank you,

Gabriel

• Like 2

• 3 months later...
Posted (edited) · another UMS5 print accuracy problem thread

Having the same issue here. I'll have to find the right settings. I guess It'll take a little more work to achieve the accuracy I need.

Edited by Cloud-Forge
written on the spur of the moment, wasn't necessarily constructive

Hi, we're sorry to hear that you are struggling to reach the level of accuracy with your Ultimaker that you are looking for. Perhaps it would help if you could share some specific elements that you need help with, instead of 'it is not good and not accurate'.