Print defects on curves (s-curves)

angryfatcat

Posted · Print defects on curves (s-curves)

I'm relatively new to Cura and I'm running into a problem that looks like its related to slicing and not printing.  I've tried about a dozen times to print this object with out the defects that appear around the curves areas on the front and back (where it curves in, out and in again).  After making no improvements, I re-sliced this with PrusaSlicer using the same basic settings and the defects were gone.  There is an exposed z-seam on the side, which is not in view.

PLA_issue.thumb.jpg.1af03cd375b16a7b086e2e10d75695f4.jpg

I'm a big fan of Cura, so I'd really love to know how ot print this successfully without having to use a different slicer.

Printed on an Ender 5 Pro with AMZ3D Dark Violet PLA

Nozzle: .4mm

Layer Height: .2mm

Wall line count/thickness: 4/1.2mm (have gone down to 2 - no improvement)

Infill:40% (have gone down to 0% with no improvement)

Printing Temp: 205C (Also printed at 185C, no improvement)

Build Plate Temp: 65C

Print Speed: 80 mm/s (60 mm/s  and 50 mm/s look about the same)

Wall Speed: 40 mm/s (also tried 30, 25)

Retraction: 5mm at 25mm/s

Fan Speed 100% after layer 4

Coasting enabled

Sliced with Cura 4.6.1, printed via SD card, Bed leveled with BLTouch.

Firmware is Marlin 1.1X .

I've tried:

• Slower speed

• turning off coasting

• fewer walls/no infill

• Equalizing nozzle pressure

• Reducing flow rate for the outer wall down to .95

• Turning off/adjusting retraction speeds

I'd really love to figure out how to print this without those defects from Cura.  Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Try checking "outer before inner" and set ALL printing speeds to 35mm/sec (no speed changes allowed).  Travel speed should be fast - 150 to 300mm/sec

19 hours ago, gr5 said:

Try checking "outer before inner" and set ALL printing speeds to 35mm/sec (no speed changes allowed).  Travel speed should be fast - 150 to 300mm/sec