Dimensions in Cura vs final printed part

schemer

Posted · Dimensions in Cura vs final printed part

I have used Cura in the past and never noticed any issues with dimensions but now I have printed a few small parts with the latest version and have noticed some issues. I am not an expert but it seems strange when I open an stl file that is 2mm thick and slice it and print it, it measures 0.045 inch instead of 0.0787 and if scale it in Cura, it still comes out incorrect. I tried another part at 5mm thick and it too is way undersize in the thickness. Any ideas? Using a CR10S with a 0.4mm nozzle and PLA.

Thanks,

schemer

1 hour ago, GregValiant said:

Z steps/mm

Z Axis binding

The screws holding the Z axis rod into the coupler and onto the stepper motor shaft are loose (popular problem).

I was hoping you were right but I got the allen wrench and checked and the couplers are both tight. I can run the z axis up and down without any binding. And the print looks fine other than being thinner than it should be. What do you mean ny "Z steps/mm"?

1 hour ago, DivingDuck said:

What do the gcode say as last Z height?

I am going to make a new one and from DesignSpark Mechanical make it the thickness I want so I won't have to scale it. And then I will report back.

Thanks.

I fixed it. 😁 When I was checking the steppers and couplings for tightness and free turning, I chose disconnect steppers from the control panel so I could turn them. That is when I realized the right z axis stepper was not connected. Funny thing is I had noticed the cable with the connector for that stepper hanging off of the table but thought it was the unused connector for the filament sensor. It's printing fine now after re-leveling etc.

startrek-picard-facepalm-s.jpg

You don't need to disconnect cables to rotate the steppers.  Worst case you can turn off the printer but usually that's not necessary.

Perfect...a cheap fix.