Converting 3d ultrasound images to stl/obj

frodeheg

Posted · Converting 3d ultrasound images to stl/obj

I had this idea about 3d-printing my unborn baby based on some 3d ultrasound images, so we got transferred the raw-data from one 3d-ultrasound session on an usb-stick, but the format look a bit proprietary and I cannot find a way to open them. Does anyone know how to convert .vol/.raw ultrasound files to .stl/.obj ?

The .vol files start with the text "KRETZFILE 1.0" while the .raw files start with the text "%HDF" if that mean anything.

Even if there is no such conversion program, I would gladly write software to do the conversion if I got a description of the file formats. Does anyone have any details?

I'm absolutely positive getting a 3d-print of your unborn baby right from the ultrasound clinic will be huge in the future :-)

I have no experience with that filetype but I have played around with DICOM files from a couple of my x-rays in a few different programs. Maybe those file formats are somewhat related? I used a program called DeVIDE to extract an STL. It's not intuitive in any way but there's a vid on youtube that explains it ("devide stl" should find it).

As for just viewing the data there's tons of programs out there, most are pretty crap though. The one I used that I liked the most isn't available anymore and wont even start for me now :( (it does online checks to a server that no longer exists...).

I have tried OsiriX, when I donated my kidney for my mother last year, I tried to make a 3d model of my kidney, but it is not easy,

a lot of programs that claim to be able to do it, cost a lot of cash.

OsiriX is able to read the my scan files and make a clear image, but have not found a way to export the data to a 3d file

http://www.osirix-viewer.com/

• 2 weeks later...

Thanks, I really appreciate these tips.

DeVIDE looks promising (although a bit complicated). I'll see if I can get the ultrasound company to convert the files into .dvx for me.