Look for advice on the best way to print this part

DadOfThree

Posted · Look for advice on the best way to print this part

Hi Folks,

I'm still learning some of the more advanced features in Cura, and I have very little experience with supports.   I installed the "Auto Orientation" Plug-In as sometimes it puts things in a better position.  When I import the attached part, the way it's placed doesn't make sense to me that it would be the best way to print.  The Auto Orientation plug-in also keeps the part on it's side exposing gaps that I think would be hard to print.  I manually moved the part upright and I think this should be more efficient, but I'd like some advice before I try it.  Attached are some pictures of what I'm talking about.

Any advice would be much appreciated.  

`

2.png

1.png

zTensioner_Bracket.STL

Hi,

if you attempt to avoid using supports, the upright position ist the best, because the arcs don't need any support. But regard that your adhesion surfache on the print bed is VERY small, so you need at least a good brim.

If you've a dual extrusion printer and can use dedicaded support material, such as PVA or Breakaway, you shouldn't look for avoiding support but best position of print object, especially needed strength (layer adhesion is the most weak point of a printed object).

Regards

• Like 1

Thank you.  I'm not necessarily looking to avoid using supports.  I guess my inexperience is getting the best of me and not understanding how a 3d Printer will handle those gap / arcs.  After slicing with supports enabled and having the part on its side, I didn't see any difference in the preview.  I was expecting to see something in the middle, where that gap is.  

Handling overhangs is part of a steep learning curve and often result of trial and error. I'm still surprised of the ability of my printer to handle overhangs I just regarded as impossible.