UM2+ Connect doesn't show any "developer mode" and ssh doesn't seem to be reachable

utopiah

Posted (edited) · UM2+ Connect doesn't show any "developer mode" and ssh doesn't seem to be reachable

Hi, even though I'm still new to 3D printing I know my way around Linux relatively well. I purchased the UM2+ Connect based on my requirement for openness and tinkering. I understand the printer is new but still despite some searches I didn't manage to find information on developer mode. I tried to applied what worked for other models (maintenance, diagnostic, enable dev mode) with the hope to get ssh access, if not root. Unfortunately I didn't see the option there.

Did anybody manage to connect (pun intended) and if so how?

PS: scanned ports with nmap and didn't notice anything helpful.

Edited by utopiah
nmap

Posted · UM2+ Connect doesn't show any "developer mode" and ssh doesn't seem to be reachable

There is no developer mode on the UM2C, the SSH daemon is not running. 
    On the other hand there is not much for tinkering on this printer. The SSH daemon was running in an early beta version so I was able to take a look into the system, but there is mainly just the display gui thing and the daemon which connects to the digital factory. Also the Onion board itself has not much space and memory to run too much things, maybe that's the reason the SSH daemon was stopped by UM to save some space for other things.

In theory you could try to connect a console cable directly to the Onion board, but in my opinion it is not worth the effort and not worth to loose the warranty on a new printer.

Posted (edited) · UM2+ Connect doesn't show any "developer mode" and ssh doesn't seem to be reachable

Hmmm well I don't need ssh per se but I was hoping to be able to e.g get some data on the print status, send gcode directly and possibly via a nodejs server. If that's not feasible then OctoPrint becomes a lot more tempting but then the "Connect" aspect seems rather limited.