Cura is getting worse and worse

Hops

Posted · Cura is getting worse and worse

So I've been holding off writing this for 2 months or so as time is scarce these days but i cant take it anymore. Maybe someone where can help.

Mac Version Cura 4.8.0

Mac OS 11.1

Router EPC3940L

Problems:

1. Cura / Ultimaker S5 do not stay connected to each other and cannot print over wifi network. No, i cant use a LAN cable.
  • Reproduction - After turning on the UM5 it connects to the newwork fine. router shows its mac and IP addresses are active and connected. Cura will find the printer and be able to print via network. After printing for an undetermined amount of time checking cura again to put another print in que you can find that cura does not see the UM5 anymore. The router shows that UM5 is connect and active as before.
  • What Ive Done - I have reported this problem to UM Support. sent logs and the answer i got was to use Digital Factory. Digital factory has the same problems but worse. Digital factory will be connected on first start of the UM5 and Cura but disconnect after a seemingly random amount of time. Often the printer is lost from the digital factory entirly and i have to re add it as if it was never there.
  • Work around - restart the printers wifi connection or the computer running cura to be able to upload one more print. 

2. Objects in Cura become unselectable and unable to be manipulated.

• Reproduction - Slice a model in cura, sent to print and then after printing confirmation close the laptop lid or put the computer to sleep. wait 10 min. wake the computer back up and try to move the models, they will not be able to be clicked at all.
  • Work around - restart cura and try again.

3. Not a problem that can be fixed via software but definitely something i was not expecting...... How is a premium printer sold these days still not using silent stepper drivers? This thing is LOUD