Print not slicing, only supports

ajchastain1

Posted · Print not slicing, only supports

When I go to try and slice my actual object that I want to print, the program wont let me saying I have the regular slicing restrictions telling me I can't slice it. But when I add supports to the object, It will slice those and leave the object there like it wasn't a part of the design anyways. 

I am still very new to Cura so I am sure this is a simple fix, but not one that i know how to fix obviously. 

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

Use "File | Save Project" and post the 3mf file here.  Nobody likes to make a dumb guess, and a 3mf will have the model along with all your settings.  Then we can make an educated guess.  Huge difference there.

The gray areas that Cura shows on the edges of the build plate are tuned to the skirt/brim width and their distance from the part.  It's a disallowed area because Cura needs it for the bed adhesion structure.  If you turn bed adhesion off you'll see the part will fit.

Use a narrow skirt (3 rows) and keep it close to the model (2mm) and you should be good.  Another thing you could do is to rotate the part 45°.

Posted (edited) · Print not slicing, only supports

I don't get that when I slice the part.  Opening the 3mf file, "Generate Support" is de-selected as it should be.  All those vertical rods "print as support" and they don't appear in the overlap areas.

This is a very difficult part and will take 33 hours to print as you have it configured.  In the upper jaw area between the "teeth" you can see in the preview that each layer will be printing in air until it gets to the next tooth.  Not good.  At the midpoint of the "brow" above the eye slot, the print starts in the center and prints in the air until it gets to your next support.  There is no question of "IF" it's going to fail there...it is going to fail there.

Brow.thumb.png.52871e9c7a20e87606d97060fadf6b6c.png