Ultimaker:Too hard for general users to achive high quality?

Posted · Ultimaker:Too hard for general users to achive high quality?

Hi all,

I am a new user wondering if the kit and printer are too complex and problematic for me.

I realize this is an impossible question, but I would like to ask your advice on the subject.

I have been following 3d printers for many years. I am a professional 3d artist and have been waiting for a time to jump into 3d printing when cost/quality were at a level that I think is right for my needs.

This type of quality would be fantastic (of course): :shock:

http://www.hive76.org/insane-3d-printin ... -the-micro

Reading on the forums here and on the google group, I see professional engineers trying to tackle problems and I feel like this is way, way, over my head. Also, though there are occasional posts saying that the build is very straight forward and getting it working is not difficult.

My best hope is that I could achieve this quality, or close, with careful building, calibration, a lot of test prints, and a little luck... along with some good tips from these forums. :D

My worst fear is that the printer becomes a source of frustration and unpredictability as it requires a tinkerer's mind and love of building machines and constant attention to keep it working. :oops:

Is there any advice that I could get on this or some stories of personal experience that you might be willing to share?

Thanks much,

Brian

I'm a professional engineer. In software that is. So I do have a bit of a tinkerer mind, but I rather have working mechanical parts then that I tinker with them. My printer needs to work, when I want. It's my tool, not my tinkering toy.

IMG_20120322_235326.small.jpeg

My print from today. With SkeinPyPy's default settings (only layer size to 0.1 instead of 0.2)