Infill and travelling issues

friedl_basson

Posted · Infill and travelling issues

Hi - 

I am experiencing some issues when printing larger part (5+ hours usually).

I am by no means an expert, but have pretty much exhausted most of the options under the "Travelling" section in Cura.  The problem I am experiencing is when the print nozzle seems to be travelling back to the 'Seam' and start printing the next layer of the shell.  The Nozzle moves over the already printed infill which seems to work just fine for the first couple of hours.

Later during the print (± 4hours in) the print nozzle seem to be colliding into the infill layers causing the build plate to vibrate quite drastically.  Almost like a car hitting speed bumps.  The print seems unaffected (other than some terrible infill patterns) but I am more concerned abut the printer and possible damage to the Z-axis lead-screw and bearings. I have attached a picture of what is happening to the infill.

For this current print I have the following settings:

1. Enable Retraction - YES
  2. Combing Mode - Not in Skin
  3. Avoid Printed parts when travelling - YES
  4. Avoid Supports when Travelling - YES
  5. Travel void Distance - 2mm (have tried anything from 0.65 to 2mm
  6. Z-hop - YES
  7. Z-HOP Height - 4mm
  8. Nozzle - 0.4mm
  9. Layer height - 0.15mm
  10. Speed - 60mm
  11. Travel Speed - 120mm
  12. Material - PLA (Proto-Pasta)
  13. Nozzle Temp - 205C

Would appreciate some help.

Regards, Friedl.

IMG_0269.jpeg

• 4 months later...

I'm having the same problem. I suspect this had something to do with combing. My next print I'm turning that off. I'll let you know.

UPDATE: Turned off combing and that issue went away. I suspect there's a bug with combing. Either that or I just don't understand it correctly. It appears to me that if combing is turned on it skips z-hop all together.

1 hour ago, aglyons said:

It appears to me that if combing is turned on it skips z-hop all together.

Yes.  You got it.