Recipe name display in printer's 'blue' window

OneEffJeff

Posted · Recipe name display in printer's 'blue' window

I recently purchased a JGMaker Magic printer and one of the features I really like is that the recipe 'loaded' in the printer will have its name displayed in the 'blue' printer LCD display/status window so I know what is running. On occasion, I have loaded a recipe only to discover what I installed the incorrect one about 90 minutes into a 3 hour print.  I have looked at the start G Code for the JGMaker printer in Cura and I can't see any command that suggests how this feature is initiated though I am new at this so I'm sure that I have missed something. Any tips or hints on how to create or install this feature would be appreciated. Thank you.

I mean the slicer settings/instructions that are sent to the printer to make an object. The instructions would be what settings are set in the slicer for print quality (fine, medium, draft...), infill, print speed & temp, etc.

Posted (edited) · Recipe name display in printer's 'blue' window

I've never heard of one that can do that.  According to the JGMaker website, your printer has Marlin 1.1.9 firmware and my Ender runs Marlin 1.1.8 which is pretty close.  The LCD screen on the website is identical to the one on my printer.  It only has the bottom line for messages.  I use a plugin which sends the current layer number and the estimated time to finish to the LCD.  Another Cura plugin can send the file name to the LCD.  The bottom line of the LCD is only 22 characters long so it can't hold a lot of information.  The command used is M117.

If you will post one of the Gcode files that has that feature somebody will take a look and see if Cura can do it.  Since the settings aren't part of any commands in a Gcode file I don't think this is possible.  Some of the information regarding settings is present at the end of a Gcode file but since they are there as "comments" they don't get acted on.