circles getting closed in cura

Areyan

Posted · circles getting closed in cura

so im pretty new to 3d printing and ive made this row of circles (in shapes of hexagons) in blender, when i put it into cura it closes the circles close to the to when it finishes. i want the entire thing exactly as it looks like on the prepare tab picture i included (hole from one end to the other). also when i try to put in 1 hexagon at a time it still fills in the inner space, couldnt find anything online to fix this. please dont use any big technical words im new to this world.    

image.png

image.png

image.png

Please post your project file so I can see what's wrong.  It could be the model.  Or it could be settings.  If you post the project file I can see both.

Do "file" "save project...".  Post that file here.

Hello?  Still need help?  I'm going to guess your normals are backwards for those inner walls.  And that means you are probably using sketchup.  Am I close?

1 hour ago, gr5 said:

Hello?  Still need help?  I'm going to guess your normals are backwards for those inner walls.  And that means you are probably using sketchup.  Am I close?

i am using blender but where do i use the file options

In cura click "File" in the top left corner.  It's a menu item.  Then "save..." for older Cura and "Save project..." for newer cura.  Please post that file.

So I looked at your STL file.  The normals are all messed up.  There is a Cura plugin that fixes normals - I tried it and it worked great on your model.  blender is one of those programs that let you reverse the normals (put the walls inside-out) which confuses cura.  Here's how to fix them in Cura (but there are also ways to fix them in blender but I don't know much about blender).

In the upper right corner of Cura click "marketplace" and make sure you are on the "plugins" tab and install "Mesh Tools".  Then restart Cura.  Now right click on your model, choose "mesh tools" and first choose