Ggode modification: Pause command acting strangely.

stolowma

Posted (edited) · Ggode modification: Pause command acting strangely.

Greetings,

I'm pretty new to the 3D printing world and have an Ender 3 Pro. I want to print with another filament at a certain layer. I tried the "filament change" which didn't work but some research showed the firmware doesn't support that command. I've been trying the "pause at layer" command and it works but does some strange, to me anyway, things. It will reach the layer, moves off and parks at the the X and Y coordinates and retracts the filament and pauses but only for about 15 seconds. It then moves back to the print, loads the filament, retracts the filament, reloads the filament and starts printing. This usually leaves a blob on the print. I've attache the portion of the Gcode and the Cura settings.

TIA

(Edit) One more thing, how can I purge the first filament before resuming the print?

Cura pause Capture.JPG

Gcode Capture.JPG

Edited by stolowma

Posted · Ggode modification: Pause command acting strangely.

I have the same setup but my E3Pro is about 18 months old and has the 1.1.5 board.  M0 works as it should.

The new Creality firmware seems to be missing quite a bit of the commands that it supported when it was still Marlin.  M0, M1, M117 are no longer supported and now a poster here says that his Ender 6 does not support G4 (which was the main workaround for pausing).

The first thing to do I think is to make up your own little gcode file.  Use any text editor.  This is just to test if M0, G4, and M117 work.  You can paste it into a new text file and save it as *.gcode and then print it.

G28 ;Auto Home all axes.

M0 ;Unconditional stop which is supposed to leave a message on the LCD "Click to resume".

G28 ;Auto Home

G4 S30 ;Dwell (pause) for 30 seconds.  If it works you cannot manually restart and must wait for the full 30 seconds.

M300 ;Loud annoying beep

G28 ;Auto Home