Improved Z-stage

Posted · Improved Z-stage

Hi community

For my "Ultimaker Black Edition" I want to make an improved z-stage which must be more rugged and stable, less prone to constant re-levelling and easier to level in general. Also, I don't want to lose too much build space (none if possible) and I want to keep at least the front of the printer open for accessibility.

So, that's quite a task because there's many requirements to be met.

Also, I'm not a trained mechanical engineer, so I appreciate any help from you guys!

I figured that the main problem with the current design is, that the whole z-stage rests only on one side (the back) without any support on the front. This works well as long as there is no increase in weight. But with pretty much any HBP, the weight IS increased so more stability would be appreciated.

So, imho it is necessary to add support for the z-stage in the front of the stage. Meaning either just two more straight rods + linear bearings, or even a whole second leadscrew.

Now of course it's easier to just put in two more rods with bearings, but are these bearings made to carry that kind of force? I don't think so - but I lack the experience to judge on that...

To give some numbers:

I want to design the z-stage for a maximum total weight of 5 kg. This gives headroom for most builds. When using a really heavy HBP like qu-bd's Basalt plate which weighs 2kg, there is not too much headroom at all.

So, if there are only two straight rods on the front, and the z-stage connects to them with linear ball bearings (same as for the back of the machine), then the z-stage's weight will put a "lever force" on the bearings instead of a proper "straight downwards force" because the front lacks a support point:

Z stage lever force

Now, 1st: Is that a problem for the bearings?