Why do some prints stick and others don't?

Canned_Soop

Posted · Why do some prints stick and others don't?

Some of my prints stick to the plate just fine, others won't at all. II've tried every base available, I've tried the glue stick method. I've tried starting a print that I know will stick, see that it sticks. Aborted it, and then started the print I wanted. Still won't stick. What am I doing wrong? I am also completely new to this and appreciate any advice.

• 5 months later...
    Posted (edited) · Why do some prints stick and others don't?

Here are several reasons.

1.  Your print bed is dirty.  Left over dust from a print or oils from fingers can cause problems.

2.  You have a heated bed but you don't allow the bed to heat up to the temperature that you set.  Eventhough the readout on your printer says 60C it can take five minutes or more before a glass bed will actually get to that temperature.  If you start printing and have issues that disappear after several failed print attempts think of this.

3.  Your printer bed isn't quite leveled.

4.  Your filament is a bit on the wet side.  In your case, this is probably not your issue, yet.  I strongly recommend a filament dryer. I use an older Sunlu version 1.  I say that 80% of the filament I buy from Microcenter is wet. Don't be fooled by vacuum sealed bags as when the filament is made from large vats and then is rolled into very large diameters and placed on very large reels and stored.  At this time the filament can get waterlogged.  Factories don't use air-conditioning and such.  The filament is then put extruded into the 1.75mm, 2.85mm or larger size diameters as customers need it and THEN it is sealed into their vacuum bags and a desicate package added.  Too late though.

Edited by dmitche3
    added some clarification

• 3 weeks later...
    Posted · Why do some prints stick and others don't?