X Axis stepper motor issue?

K3Dds

Posted · X Axis stepper motor issue?

Hey Guys,

I am currently having an issue with my UM2+ X axis printing. It is going on 4 years now with no issues until today!

It started with a slight layer shift on the x axis while printing but has now turned into a "grinding" sound and more severe shifting.(see video). I went through all the steps to tighten the screws and making sure the stepper motors were pushed tight ensuring no slack on any of the belts.

An error ER07 came up so I did a factory reset, which got rid of the error but didn't rectify the layer shifting.

I noticed that when I push the print head in the Y axis, with printer off, its nice and smooth but in the X axis its hard to push and grinds when I do move it.

I decided to open the stepper motor to see if anything stood out(not saying alot as I'm no engineer!), loose wires etc but cant see anything untoward.

When I tried to turn the belt driver cog, its very stiff and sticks when turning clock/counter clock wise. Should it do that or turn freely? I haven't inspected the other one so don't have a comparison.

do I need a new stepper motor or is it something simple I missed?

I have attached some images and video of it misbehaving!

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1qLLRJeXU81ZTQ2QMAudr6ThuS-I36TPf?usp=sharing

Cheers.

I watched (and more importantly listened) to the videos.  The "bad" sounds are surprisingly mild.  I was expecting nasty bearing grinding sounds (sometimes a ball bearing breaks and you get shrapnel in there and then the other bearings start to grind up).  So that didn't seem like the issue but it's hard to say.