What software for beginner

Posted · What software for beginner

I would already start to design things i need until my UM2 arrives and learn. I have no experience in any cad as i had only designed PCB boards and that is another work.

Im searching a software where i could simply design easy stuff for beginning and can progress later. If its free, its ok but i don't mind paying some reasonable price for a paid software. While researching i found Autodesk123 and wonder is it a good starter or is there better and easier approach? I kinda like quite a lot what i have seen.

Mostly i need simple standoffs and connectors, brackets in metric dimensions and similar parts.

I was struggling quite a bit with the same problem. I have settled for these two packages:

1. DesignSpark Mechanical

This is the free version of SpaceClaim (a well known CAD software - also used by Ultimaker). According to Daid there aren't many features missing compared to SpaceClaim. The catch - it is Windows only :(

2. Moments of Inspiration

This software has a quirky interface and introduces some UI paradigms, but it is really well thought out. I think it is more geared towards the creative designer. It is cross platform and costs around 300$.

I am using both, but I like MoI way better.

I'm also in the same situation.

I think that it depends on what type of objects you will want to make. I tested a few and i'm quite lazy I want something straitforward where you don't have to read a ton of information or tutorials.

I've been trying FreeCad (http://www.freecadweb.org/) this weekend and it looks pretty easy to understand. I don't have much experience for the moment but i've been able to create an object i had in my mind in a couple of minutes

Google Sketchup is also pretty easy but i think it's limited in use.

There are a lot of softwares out there it's not easy to find something for total newbies like me. I look at blender and i was afraid by the complexity.