Hello, I am new to 3D printers, I have a question

Ayman1612

Posted (edited) · Hello, I am new to 3D printers, I have a question

Hello, I am new to 3D printers, I have a question, what is the function of the communication cable, what does it do, if I disconnect it, what happens?

58F84BA4-E661-4AE1-9050-66602CD65AD4.jpeg

Edited by Ayman1612

Posted · Hello, I am new to 3D printers, I have a question

The cable is needed to heatup the print cores, measure the temperature, switch the print cores, power for the fans.

When you disconnect it your printer will not work anymore.

• Thanks 1

Hey,

I don't know if this helps but I have a list of components of the printcores here:

https://github.com/Ultimaker/Ultimaker3/blob/master/BOM/subBOM Ultimaker Print Core AA 0.4.pdf

There is a single fan in the front, and two radial fans at the side of the printhead. 

https://support.ultimaker.com/hc/en-us/articles/360011527340-Check-the-Ultimaker-3-front-print-head-fan

2 hours ago, Smithy said:

Thank you very much, you helped me a lot, I have one last question when to use filament 1.75 and when to use 2.85?

For your printer the UM3, you always use 2.85 filament.

Other printers use 1.75, so it is depending on the printer itself.

According to what I see, there is a heatsink and there is also a 25 watt cartridge heater, what is the difference in roles?

Is it possible to put 2 AA type nozzles?

Sure you can put 2 AA print cores in the printer.

• Thanks 1

What is the difference between j (heatsink) and F (heater cartridge) what is the role of each of them? I would love to know and sorry if I dug you up

2DF15F21-C8CE-4AD9-A898-7F25B1EFAF0C.png

I don't understand your questions or why you are asking about such things.

But anyway....

The heater cartridge heats up the nozzle to be able to melt the filament.

The heatsink cools the upper part of the print core which is important that only the nozzle itself is hot.