CoMeDoONE for Ultimaker2

Posted · CoMeDoONE for Ultimaker2

Hi Guys, Freaks and Everyone :smile:

CoMeDoONE

CoMeDoONE

I'm no expert, that should you know, but I'm really stubborn, please exercise some patience with me.

My first solution to trying eliminating much-discussed problems with the material feed of Ultimaker2 has reached a usable state.

Basically just a more powerful engine with active cooling is needed...

Engine-Cooling is necessary, as the new engine otherwise transfers too much heat on the knurled wheel.

The change to a new engine currently has an experimental status and is more intended for experienced users. Cooling of the original UM2 is not essentially necessary but everyone can decide for themselves.

*** There are to consider the following:

The Trinamic motor only makes 200 whole steps per round. The original UM2 engine makes 400 steps. That could be a problem on very finer resolutions <0.1 mm. There is a possibility which could be inaccurate, the material flow. And or accurate dosing is not possible. Further testing must be done for more accurate statements.

I have done something more with it. After many tests and smaller optimizations, there is good news for you if you wish. A couple of videos and Pictures for now. I will try to explain everything in much more detail in the coming days ... at the weekends.

The presented Trinamic motor has a lot more power, but generates less load on the system, there is absolutely no breaks in the material flow more. Nevertheless, an additional active cooling is required. *** The material flows out from the nozzle like a bursted pipe, genuine. :smile:

The other thing with the digging of the knurled wheel in the filament, I could also alleviate some, but not completely eliminate them. Anyway, I also have a few little extra tips for you, so entirely without redesigning the extruder.