Dual extruders single nozzle, any example scripts to start with Cura?

Mister Fab

Posted · Dual extruders single nozzle, any example scripts to start with Cura?

Hello all,

I am new to Cura, after having using S3D a long time.

I am trying to configure my printer (Tevo Tornado, Marlin firmware) to work with dual extruders.

It already works well with a single extruder with Cura, and dual extrusion worked with S3D.

Would someone have an example of the configuration scripts used for each extruder? 

I have made several tries but I don't understand how Cura manages the dual extrusion.

For example, I have a test cube,  starting full black for  10 layers, then whithe for another 10 layers then back to black etc...

But when the print is launched, it makes a tool change on each layer( retract the PLA on tool 1, and reinsert the same ), just to keep the same color and going back to print.

If anyone has any advice, it will be welcome.

Thank you for reading

Posted (edited) · Dual extruders single nozzle, any example scripts to start with Cura?

I just reviewed a bug report on Github and it involves the same sort of behavior.  In that case it appears to be a problem with the implementation of the Prime Tower.  There is also a discussion HERE on this forum posted by the same person.  That poster has a 4 in 1 out hot end.

If you would load your models and set Cura up to slice and use the "File | Save Project"  command and post the 3mf file here I'll take a look. 

Playing with my printer configured with a 2-in-1-out hot end what I found was:

• With the Prime Tower enabled:
      • If the bottom part us printed with T0 and the top with T1 there is only 1 tool change in the gcode file.
      • If the bottom part is printed with T1 and the top with T0 then there are 63 tool changes in the file.
    • With the Prime Tower disabled:
      • It doesn't matter which extruder is used for the bottom part - there is only 1 tool change in the gcode.