Why cura messes up with my walls?

adetogni
Go to solution Solved by GregValiant,

Posted · Why cura messes up with my walls?

Hi, I'm a novice in 3d printers, actually my first 3d printer is going to arrive next week. Meanwhile, I'm learning as much as possible, and playing with Cura in preparation. 
Today I created a first 3d model in tinkercad, with some carved texts. 
I am aware that maybe it is too much detailed for 3d printing BUT I don't understand why Cura decides to make the walls in the TEXT area in  this messy way (going back and forth instead of linear, therefore taking a HUGE amount of time for such a simple model). I am probably doing a very basic mistake.

To make the text I created the SVG file in a differnt tool and imported into TinkerCad and then I did a carve (not sure if it's the right word 🙂 ).
Any help?

thanks!

Copy of gatta ci cova (7).stl

Posted (edited) · Why cura messes up with my walls?

Without knowing your settings there is no way to tell what is going on.

With the model loaded and Cura ready to slice with your settings - use the "File | Save Project" command to create a 3mf file.  It will contain the model, your settings, and your printer.  Much better to check than just the STL.  Post the 3mf here.

I sliced that STL at .2 layer height and at layer 51 the pupils of the eyes start.  There isn't anything below them so they will fail without support and getting support out from below that delicate structure isn't going to end well.

Regarding the time involved...FDM is not a fast process.  You aren't allowed to complain until the prints get over 40 hours.  When you wake up to a pile of spaghetti covering something that for 30 hours had been a perfect print  THEN you get to complain as much as you want.

What printer did you decide on?

Edited by GregValiant

Hi @GregValiant thanks a lot for the quick response!