Ultimaker S5 Very frustrating and confusing print quality/extrusion/unknown issue.

jsw
Go to solution Solved by gr5,

Posted · Ultimaker S5 Very frustrating and confusing print quality/extrusion/unknown issue.

Ladies and gentlemen, hopefully the collective wisdom can point me in the right direction, because, even though I'm no beginner to 3d printing, I am totally dumbfounded as to what is going on.  Perhaps someone has seen something like this or has some insight into what is going on.

I have a ca. 2020-ish S5, the version with the 'U' on the side, which until last weekend was a flawless performer.  For lack of a better expression, it's gone 'all to $#!+', and although I think I'm usually a competent troubleshooter, this one has me totally baffled.  Any insight would be appreciated.  I've enclosed a few photos to illustrate what is happening.

Last Saturday, during a run of very ordinary prints, one very simple one (a flat piece) started failing on the first layer.  It looked like the extrusion simply stopped midway in the print.

However, prints of a circular peg were always successful.  I would do 2-3 pegs, which came out perfect, then try the flat piece again with the same results.  This is plain vanilla Hatchbox PLA, and I stopped to give it a good dry-out in the air fryer just in case it had picked up moisture.  (No effect.)  I did cold pulls, no effect.  I have three good AA print heads, all gave the same symptoms.  Good on the peg, failed first layer on the flat piece.  I switched one of the AAs over to the right side, no difference.  Good on the peg, failed on the flat print.

I did clean out the feeder on the #1 side, thinking that it may have gotten clogged with filament debris, but it was fairly clean.