Failed to import profile (Cura v5.2.1)

MirageIIIRS

Posted · Failed to import profile (Cura v5.2.1)

Dear all

I’m new to the 3D printing world, but have successfully used Cura v5.2.1 so far for printing a few mechanical parts on my “Anycubic Kobra” 3D printer.

Now I’d like to utilize for example the “Kobra PROFILE 5-LW.curaprofile” from Planeprint to create lightweight wings for RC-gliders. So I’ve tried to import a series of Planeprint’s Cura v5.2 profiles and I’m failing always with the error message:

“Failed to import profile from c:/users/…./ Kobra PROFILE 5-LW.curaprofile: Quality type ‘draft’ is not compatible with the current active machine definition “anycubic_kobra’.” (please attachement Plane-Print_Profile-Import-Error_2023-01-10_19-15-26.jpg

Following some advice from various forums I’ve tried to amend the file “Kobra PROFILE 5-LW.curaprofile” with Visual Studio Code to amend the value “quality_type =normal”  to “standard” within the section [metadata]. Unfortunately, w/o success.

What am I missing?

Your help upfront would be highly appreciated.

Best regards, MirageIIIRS

Plane-Print_Profile-Import-Error_2023-01-10_19-15-26.jpg

Kobra PROFILE 5-LW.curaprofile

I've given up on profiles.  I've had better luck with project ilfes.  Ask the person who created the cura profile to instead create a project file.  It doesn't need to have any objects loaded.  that will save the machine settings, profiles, and cura settings overridden.  Tell them to do "file" "save project..." and send you the resulting file.

I'm guessing they have a different machine profile loaded than you do.  With the project file, the machine profile is included inside.  

Dear gr5

Thank you very much for outlining a potential solution for this issue I'm facing. I've reached out to the vendor, trying to obtain s sourcefile based on the "project" approach. I'm gonna test it ASAP I'll have those files.

Best regards, MirageIIIRS