Inset Polygons Incorrectly Printing

gkokes
Go to solution Solved by Slashee_the_Cow,

Posted · Inset Polygons Incorrectly Printing

I am fairly new to 3D printing, and have come across something I can't seem to fix.  I downloaded a Saturn V from NASA's model site (https://nasa3d.arc.nasa.gov/detail/SATURNV).  I can't get Stage 2 (S-II.stl) to slice correctly.  I'll reference everything with the part rotated vertically such that the thrusters are on the bottom.  On the bottom (thruster end), where the conical surface above the thrusters is inset inside the main stage cylinder, the slicer places a horizontal surface flush with the bottom of the cylinder, and adds infill from there.  The model clearly should simply extend the conic section up until it intersects the cylinder.  With this additional horizontal surface and infill, the adapter section above Stage 1 can't slide up into the bottom of Stage 2.  I've even tried turning off supports and infill (I wouldn't actually print that way) to see if I can get it to stop making the horizontal surface flush with the bottom of the cylinder, but it "always" does.  I say "always" because I found if I angle the model about 30-45 degrees, it either does slice this area correctly, or prints it kinda correctly (the incorrect surface now prints at an angle such that on one side the conic section does properly make it to the cylindrical section), but the top of the model is all messed up after slicing.

Similarly, the thrusters themselves (which should be hollow cones) get a flat bottom surface and infill.  Thrusters on Stage 1 do the same thing, but the rest of the models have no problem printing hollow thruster cones.

What is wrong that the slicer is filling in the area where the two polygons (cylinder and cone) overlap?  I'm making this for a Creality Ender-3 S1 Pro printer -- I don't know if that affects anything (like I said, I'm new to this).