Faberdashery PLA Material

Posted · Faberdashery PLA Material

Hello folks

I am a proud Ultimaker V1 owner. I got one about 2 months ago and soon enough I will run out of material which I got from the Ultimaker store. As I am in Ireland/UK I was recommended to try the website http://www.faberdashery.co.uk/products-page/%20to%20get%20PLA%20material.

They have a great selection of colours and you can buy it by the metre which is cool! However I notice that the filament diameter is either 1.75mm or 3mm. The filament I get from Ultimaker is 2.85mm I believe off hand. Will the 1.75 or 3mm work in an Ultimaker V1 and if so then which one should I get? 3mm because it is closer to the 2.85?

Apologies in advance if this is a silly question, I would just like to be sure and I am very new to 3D printing.

Thanks folks and have a good day :)

Typically '3mm' is used as a generic description, and what you get is really around 2.8 - 2.9mm. Certainly, with Faberdashery that is the case. It will work fine in your UM1.

Some suppliers (especially generic providers with little understanding of the requirements in practice) produce '3mm' filament that really IS 3mm - or sometimes more. And those won't work well on an Ultimaker, as they can become caught in the Bowden tube. So it can be confusing.

But if you stick with reputable brand name suppliers, like Faberdashery, ColorFabb, etc., you won't go too far wrong. And I definitely recommend Faberdashery since you're close by and won't have to pay huge shipping costs.

Hey Darth

I am in UK too, and have started using Faberdashery quite a bit, so far my preferred material. I have started to measure diameters regularly and so far every spool I have had has been very accurate, 2.85 typically is what you get. I use the UM2.

Here`s a picture of the black which I have just measured.

Fab Black