Ultimaker Community of 3D Printing Experts
Sign in to follow this  
yellowshark

Question to Ultimaker Software Engineering dept.

Everyone thinks their feature is important but sometimes adding one feature pisses someone else off. Think about if everyone wants this feature or if it might possibly just add another thing that new people won't understand or appreciate. Anyway here is the best place to post a request as it will kind of sit there where UM employees see it on a regular basis:

https://github.com/daid/Cura/issues

Some defect trackers have the ability to vote on the importance of a bug or new feature. At least with that, you make the larger number happier.

I'm not in favor of a voting system. With a voting system people will assume that the highest voted requests gets done.

And there is a whole range of things that I need to judge a request on. One of the important ones is "effort vs reward". Another one is "will this make the UI more complex?"

I'm a software developer so maybe my opinion can be useful (or maybe not :mrgreen: )

Maybe it could be interesting to have a pinned subject on the Cura forum with the suggestions for Cura. There would be one subject aside for the discussions on each suggestion (maybe one topic/suggestion).

I'd see it like this:

I have something i would love to see in Cura. I open a subject, detail the functionality.

It's discussed with the other forum members and with Daid (or any other person responsible of Cura if there are).

• If the suggestion is worth a development it goes into the pinned subject and is declared as approved.
  • If the suggestion is interesting but time consuming it goes into the pinned subject and is declared as pending.
  • If the suggestion is rubbish or doesn't comply with Cura's philosophy it goes into the pinned subject and is declared as refused.