z axis not homing properly

brit

Posted · z axis not homing properly

I have been using Cura for several months with my Creatr printer. It has been fantastic. However when I replaced my Creatr motherboard for some reason the Cura G-code in Repitier –Host caused the z axis to be located higher than it used to be - and higher than it is when homing the Z. It always jogged down a bit then back up at the beginning of a print, but now it jogs too far up ....right into the bed.

So I then bit the bullet and bought Simplify3d. It is OK, but Cura is far better for my imperfect scans and intersecting meshs. Simplify3d has been creating some pretty weird slices with them whereas Cura does a perfect job every time.

How can I solve that jog up and down at the begining of the print so that it will home on the z axis properly? I assume that it has something to do with the G-code - that I could edit out?

Perhaps this: “G1 Z15.0 F5400 ;move the platform down 15mm”?

The beginning of the g-code:

140 S60.000000

G21 ;metric values

G90 ;absolute positioning

M82 ;set extruder to absolute mode

M107 ;start with the fan off

G28 X0 Y0 ;move X/Y to min endstops

G28 Z0 ;move Z to min endstops

G1 Z15.0 F5400 ;move the platform down 15mm

G92 E0 ;zero the extruded length

G1 F200 E3 ;extrude 3mm of feed stock

G92 E0 ;zero the extruded length again

G1 F5400

;Put printing message on LCD screen

M117 Printing...

;Layer count: 450

;LAYER:-2

;RAFT

G0 F5400 X30.00 Y63.05 Z0.30

Cura does 2 assumptions.

a) The firmware homing takes care of setting Z0 = bed touching nozzle

b) The firmware limits the Z speed.

Could be that your firmware of your new board is configured differently then the old board.

It does home correctly to the z axis, though. But when Cura starts it starts high (slamming into the bed). I wonder if I can edit the g-code so it doesn't?