adding better multi core support for slicing

markus-reinisch

Posted · adding better multi core support for slicing

no I'am not.

But I'am slicing a lot of 3D objects and it would be a great improvement, when it is faster. Or with a good computer you can slice realtime.

is the slicing process using CPU power or does it work with OpenGL?

I am a software engineer.

And saying "add multicore support", is like saying, just add more fuel and wheels to your car, then it will go faster.

Daid might be a little gruff but as a developer I can understand. He is working on a lot of things and probably a lot of "uncool" mundane stuff. In commercial settings, you work on broken things first and new features that marketing wants to sell then sorely needed features then cools stuff (which you never get to).

Here is some more info: http://umforum.ultimaker.com/index.php?/topic/6183-why-cura-so-slow/

And without fuel you can't go faster ;)

Multithreading doesn't actually make the 'car' any faster. The top speed is still the same (or in some cases, reduced due to the TDP of the processor which can cause throttling when all cores are at 100% load). What multithreading does is let you be in more than one place at the same time.

If you think of it as driving in a race, being able to be in multiple places at once may or may not help, depending upon the rules of the race. Maybe all you have to do is pass over every part of the track exactly once and not in any particular order, in which case multithreading will let you complete the race in far less time.

But maybe the rules say that each part of the track must be touched in sequence, and starting mile 5 before completing miles 1-4 results in a disqualification. Now multithreading won't help you, because even if you can be in 12 places at once, the rules prevent any of the extra 11 places from being ahead of where you'd be when using only 1 place at a time.