pla curling up help

gary_auto

Posted · pla curling up help

What is you 1st layer depth and 1st layer print speed? Bed temp.? Can you post a pic or two of the models so we can see the bottom surface area - a screen clip of the model in Cura would do. Have you checked and set your bed levelling? A pic of a model immediately it has completed print of layer 1 may help too.

If the tape is lifting up then you need to use wider tape. If it is liting off the tape then you need to use brim and also wash the wax off the tape with isopropyl alcohol.

Illuminarti has 6 inch wide blue painters tape. I have 2 inch wide.

Hi thanks for the reply's. The blue tape is not sticking to the print bed! im new to 3d printing and have only ever used quick print profiles.

The bed is non heated. Im trying to print the ultimaker quiet retraction from thigiverse!

I cant seem to upload or copy links so cant provide pictures yet :( Will keep trying.

You mean "spirit level"? You don't need the bed to be level with the earth. It needs to be level with the gantry above that moves the head around. So: No, don't use a spirit level.

Regarding tape lifting - just go to the nearest paint store and get some wider painters tape! Blue or Green is fine. Even "white" masking tape will work. But I recommend blue or green and get the thickest they have. 2 inches is twice as good as the stuff from UM and 6 inches is even better.

or use a wide brim and when it starts the second layer, tape over the brim with ductape .

Be careful not to push to hard on the print-bed otherwise your leveling/layerhight will change.