New Plugin - Swap At Height

pm_dude

Posted · New Plugin - Swap At Height

Hello,

I'm working on a small plugin in Cura to swap gcode at a given height. The goal is to make it possible to merge gcodes with different settings like different infill.

So far I find the layer at z replace the content from that point and until the end or the given z. Recalculate layer count and layer indices, add G0 movements to travel to layer start point, recalculate E.

I haven't tried to print yet. The preview in Cura is working but the layer view doesnt display new layers (if other gcode as different layer height) and the print time is not updated.

Is there anything I'm missing? This is my first time playing with gcodes and plugins...

swap at height

EDIT:

Available on Youmagine

https://www.youmagine.com/designs/swap-at-z

• Replies 68
    • Created
    • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The tricky part is the E values. Nice work.

As far as I can tell, the layer view takes the outer shell directly from the slicer, but then the second pass (inner shell, infill, brim, support, etc) comes from the gcode after your plugin. This means it can show the wrong shell but the correct infill. To truly visualize the gcode it's best to "clear platform" and then "load model file" and load the gcode result.

Although this feature is built into the new Cura (pink unicorn) which isn't out yet but I assume will be soon - maybe one of those announcements on September 18.

Inner shell is good. It display the good one.

The display isn't good if you change geometry between the gcodes. When the swapped section is in focus on the layer view it does display the good one but not when out of focus.

Loading the gcode on a clear platform give weird results. Thanks for the tip. It will help me figure it out.

Are you sure the feature you refer to in PU is not different settings per object?