Sign in to follow this  
concreteturtle

Ulticontroller Documentation

Posted · Ulticontroller Documentation

Does anyone know if there exists any documentation to go along with the ulticontroller?

In particular I'm looking at the conversion of the steps / mm in Cura to the setting on the controller.

(I'd also like to change the preheat settings)

Cheers.

The pre-heat settings are hardcoded.

The "steps per E" are exposed at 2 locations, one of them is called "flowrate" which allows you to adjust with steps of 1. The other is "steps per E", and in 0.01 steps, however, the 0.01 steps one is bugged and you better not use it.

Thanks Daid,

Sorry, I wasn't very clear, what I meant was: Cura is running great for me and giving good quality prints, what I'd like to do is move the settings from cura to the ulti controller.

My calibration gives 848 steps per E, and I'm not sure of the conversion to E steps / mm.

BTW, cura is fantastic, makes getting started as a total noob a breeze, thank you.

"steps per E" is the same as "E steps per mm", so you can use the same value.

Great, I was thrown by the fact that the ulticontrollers default setting is 248, and Cura gave 848. I thought I'd need a conversion.

Thanks Daid.

The 248 is a bug, don't touch that setting from there, becauses it will store it wrong. I was told it was fixed, but it obviously isn't.

I tried to change it, but the adjustment it allows is only fine around about 99 E steps/ mm. I had an extruder jam, but I don't know if it is related.

I will revert to failsafe settings and start again.

If we don't change that value, where is the correct place in the menu to calibrate the extruder feed rate?

Is there anywhere that anyone knows of that actually explains what the things in the menu mean?