help with ABS setting- I have mad cracks between layers

hawulim

Posted · help with ABS setting- I have mad cracks between layers

Hello,

I recently purchased ultimaker original + and printing with ABS filament and getting serious cracks between the layers.

A complete newbie.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2pxOf9xVJqWZ19RZWRPdVF2RUU/view?usp=sharing

The crack was so severe that the print actually broke in half.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2pxOf9xVJqWS3dsVzFCdkgxem8/view?usp=sharing

I looked up on line on the forums and tried speeding it down to 70-80 and below is the temperature setting.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2pxOf9xVJqWaHZ4eldwM3c1SFU/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2pxOf9xVJqWZzBVUXYtbE1LOEU/view?usp=sharing

This is when I continued to print with reduced speed.

Any idea why this is happening? Is it a under extrusion problem?

Also, is there any way I can avoid the messy stringy stuff?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2pxOf9xVJqWVlNYR2tPekFsdm8/view?usp=sharing

Last question.

We tried to separate a tall model into parts by using the "split into parts" but the scale is different, so it would be right when I put the two together. Any solution to make them the right size?

We also manually split the model into two obj files but is there a way to match the size perfectly?

Thank you for your time and Happy New Year!

Any help would be appreciated!

What layer height are you using.

You are probably printing to fast for the temp. Try printing at 50mm/s at 250-260C. Reduce fan to 50% (128) or even less. Fan too strong will reduce layer bounding with ABS.

Hey