Student Discounts? VAT?

craftee

Posted · Student Discounts? VAT?

Hello I am an architecture student at Woodbury University. I am very interested in purchasing the Ultimaker 2 but I am having a hard time saving up $2500. I was wondering if you guys gave university students some sort of discount. Also since I live in the US and you guys have factories here as well, do I still need to pay the VAT?

I recommend you print your projects with 3dhubs. It will match you up to a local person with a 3dprinter and the prices are reasonable. You can print *a lot* of stuff for much less than $2500 through 3dhubs.

I have considered using 3dhubs to purchase prints. But the reason my classmates and I need a 3d printer is because we will end up printing many things over the course of 5 years+ which will cost us well over $2500 if we were to print on 3dhubs. On top of that I will have more control over the print quality and print time. Trust me I have taken many things into consideration and just buying a UM2 is the most cost effective and will give architecture students more control over their work.

So back to the original question.

Hi Craftee,

Thank you for your post.

We don't have a discount for students.

We do have a more affordable model coming out; the Ultimaker 2Go.

If you want to benefit from the same experience and quality of the Ultimaker 2.

If you want a heated bed and the same volume for a lower price you could also look into the Ultimaker Original+

In regard of VAT, you don't have to pay the dutch VAT, that only applies on dutch customers.

For the US other regulations may come in play.

Thank you for your timely response. That is unfortunate that there are no student discounts.

Regarding the pricing, since €1895 = $2120.69 I'm not exactly sure why the estimates price comes out to $2500

Hey, Craftee. What kind of project you are doing in the University? Sounds interesting that you are printing so big amount of models for study. Curious :p