Cura files crashing Marlin

fauxhican

Posted · Cura files crashing Marlin

Hey all, newb to the community here. Finally had to admit that I need some expert help. 

TL/DR: I flashed Marlin 1.1.x to my Tevo Tarantula after hitting a wall with troubleshooting failed prints and trying several Cura versions. Now gcode files from Cura 3.2.1 are crashing when trying to print, rebooting the firmware. Gcode attached. 

----

I troubleshoot electronic devices for a living, so I'll try to include all the relevant details here. 

Last summer I built a Tarantula kit (regular bed, no auto-level) and started printing. I've been designing in Fusion 360 (2.0.3803) on my MacBook Air running Sierra (10.12.3), and started out slicing in Cura 2.6.2. For 6 months, my prints got better and better as I dialed things in and learned what kind of settings worked best with my printer and filament. Through that time, I kept the stock MigBot firmware installed. About a month and a half ago, I updated to Cura 3.1 to use a few new features. Prints went as expected for a few weeks. One day after playing with the settings preferences for combing and rafts (not actually trying to print, just enabling the options), every file I tried to print started failing. The printer would no longer warm up, nothing moved, and the print progress percentage just kept going up until it got to the last layer, at which point the z axis would rise to the top layer height and print the last layer into thin air, then showed that the print was complete.