Trouble with raft first layer, possibly due to incomplete perimeter print?

bobrich

Posted · Trouble with raft first layer, possibly due to incomplete perimeter print?

Hey folks,

I'm new to everything, cura, gcode, 3d printing, etc.  I'm currently using Cura 15.04.3 and a Wanhao Duplicator i3 printing with PLA and ABS.  I'll try to describe the problem I'm having, unfortunately I don't have an easy way to get pictures at the moment.

Basically when I print a raft, the very first layer consists of a single perimeter 'bead' that traces the outline of the raft, followed by fill lines that run every 1/8" or so across the width of the raft.

This seems to work pretty well, except for the fact that every single time there is a bit of this perimeter missing from the print.  It's just that there's no PLA laid down for maybe 3/4" or so.  Then, when the fill lines are laid down, they ALWAYS curl up right at this part, presumably because there's no perimeter to stick to?

Is there something I can do to help with this?  I'm running the DiiCooler which tends to snag on these curls and basically the print gets hosed before it gets off the ground.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Bob

• 3 weeks later...
    • 3 weeks later...
    Posted · Trouble with raft first layer, possibly due to incomplete perimeter print?

This is actually happening to me as well. To describe a bit more in-depth (at least for my issue). It seems like the extruder starts to push filament through and print before the nozzle is making contact with the print bed. This causes a portion of the raft perimeter to not print and subsequently provides nothing for the supports to stick to so they curl or drag with the nozzle marring the raft. It looks like it tries to start printing while moving to the starting position but while the z axis isn't far enough down.

• 5 months later...