What am I doing wrong?

james1220

Posted · What am I doing wrong?

Being a super noob, I just purchased my first 3d printer (Ultimaker 2 extend +) and just went through the startup process and pushed print.  The following video is what happened.

It appears to me that the material is not getting through the nozzle very well. I'm guessing I should up the temperature or is there something wrong with the feeder?

Wondering if someone has seen this before?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

You have two problems.

First keep your nozzle clean at any time. At the start of a print fresh filament is pushed through the nozzle. When this material winds up and touches the nozzle at the side it will bake in and you have a perfect loop. this can catch with your print at any time. Take a pair of tweezers and pull it off right at the beginning. I make sure it winds nicely around the left plate clamp before the print head moves to the print position. Keep this initial filament lump away from your print area.

Second your bed adhesion is poor. Lower the thickness of your first layer in small steps in Cura in advanced settings. If this doesn't help try the glue stick. There are many tips for better bed adhesion in this forum and they vary with the material you use.

Thank you for your inputs, all so helpful.

At first, I noticed this:

20160426_134613.thumb.jpg.d425ea18eb2e40b3a7433af558e3a67a.jpg

I followed the instructions and loosened my feeder tension to near zero. Unfortunately, this did not work as I observed the same printing problem.

With some research, i discovered that some posts have stated that it could be a blocked nozzle. So I followed the Atomic technique described in the manual. I git this:

20160426_211257.thumb.jpg.81e48d4bfdba67a7e0af6735cc51b752.jpg