New Ultimaker 2+ Extended issues

andy3dl

Posted · New Ultimaker 2+ Extended issues

Hi all,

I've recently got an UM 2+ extended at my workplace and have a couple of issues with it, firstly on the initial print the filament did not extrude from the nozzle. I did an atomic clean just to confirm that there was no clog (which didn't seem to be the issue), I then adjusted the tension on the feeder and was then able to print ok. Great I thought.

I then changed filament and same thing happened, repeated above process of cleaning nozzle and adjusting tension on feeder and managed to extrude plastic. Have people has similar issues on the UM2 +? I have been using a UM2 for around 2 years and have never had this kind of issue.

Second query..whilst changing filament from the genuine UM filament that came with printer (750g) to Verbatim filament (1kg), I noticed that the spool holder seems to have reduced in size, so now will not fit the 1kg spool on. I know I can print another larger holder, but was surprised that this had changed. Anyone know why this was changed!?

Thanks,

Andy

Hi Andy,

Thank you for your post and welcome to the community :)

Besides being able to extrude some plastic, would you say you made a successful print?

And did you have to tighten the spring again, after the filament swap?

If you are unsure about the quality of your prints, you could upload some photo's of your prints. That would be of much help diagnosing your Ultimaker.

What exactly your issue is, is still kinda unclear to me from your post.

About the spool holder, since the development of dual extrusion was stopped there was no need for the bigger spool holder (fitting 2 reels). The smaller the full dimensions of the machine, the more spaces it would fit in. And it allows for less movement of the reel or filament wrapping around the spool holder.

If you want a bigger one, I would indeed recommend to print a bigger reel holder.