Sharing Slicing profiles / prints / gcode

kreativgeek

Posted · Sharing Slicing profiles / prints / gcode

So, I'm a webdeveloper by trade and something I use a lot are things like gists and plnkr.co . They make it easy to share small snippets of code or other small parts of code so others can get started easily.

In my experience with 3d printing, the slicing profiles everybody uses involve a little bit of 'magic'. A slicing profile to start with, for instance KISSlicer, was also hard to find.

Daid also talked about sending back profiles/usage logs from Cura to log them so they can learn something about the usage of Cura and/or slicing profiles. But the problem here is that it's a bit weird for a desktop program to be communicating with servers on the internet, some people don't like that :smile:

All these things made me think that it would be a good thing if we had an easy way to share slicing profiles, or even specific profiles for printing out a specific 3d model.

So I created a proof-of-concept of my idea on http://printlogger.kreativgeek.be . It's a simple webapp where you can add a new print/slicing profile/gcode. You simply select the generated gcode file (the settings have to be included in this gcode file, you can enable this in kisslicer settings) and it parses it locally (no gcode is uploaded to the server). Only KISSlicer gcode is currently supported as it's a proof-of-concept. You can then save the information to the server and from then on, you can link to the page from anywhere.

You can see a slicing profile I added at http://printlogger.kreativgeek.be/#/prints/513e45e203c07b0200000001

So, my questions for you are :

• Do you think something like this is useful? Or is it unnecessary?
  • Would it just be about sharing slicing profiles? Or more? Like specific profiles for specific models for specific printers?
  • I really don't like the name for the project, any suggestions?
  • Any other feedback :)

I'm curious to hear your opinion on this!