UM3X door and ventilated hood causing PVA core BB to overheat?

dotyman

Posted · UM3X door and ventilated hood causing PVA core BB to overheat?

Hi all,

I am new to 3D printing, and to the UM3X. Nonetheless, I've noted that it is generally recommended to use a front door and top cover/hood on the printer when printing ABS in order to prevent warping and delamination. Apparently the door/hood combo creates a more stable (higher) build chamber temperature in order to keep the ABS from cooling too fast.

With this is mind, I built a door and a fan-ventilated hood for the printer. The hood is part of an enclosure that also covers the back of the printer and print spools to shade them from UV light. I have left about 3/4 inch of clearance between the top of the printer and the hood in order to allow air intake. I have also added a fan control that allows me to control the vent fan speed and an air temperature thermometer that displays the temperature inside the build chamber.

Unfortunately, I keep getting an ER13 "Max Temperature" error on the PVA BB core when I print long prints. Sometimes the error occurs after an hour or so, and sometimes it occurs after about 10-20 hours of printing. And, each time this occurs I have to cycle the printer off/on and abort the print job which is wasting lots of time and material.

I've tried keeping the build chamber temperature between 40-45 ℃, as suggested in the Ultimaker website's description of the UM2 door option information. However, this has not prevented the print core error.

Has anyone else that uses a door and/or hood to keep the build chamber warm run into this problem? If so, did you come up with a solution?

Any input would be greatly appreciated as I am trying to be able to make reliable and true ABS parts.

Thanks!

dotyman

Posted · UM3X door and ventilated hood causing PVA core BB to overheat?