Makerbot Replicator 2 and X3GWriter plugin howto

jessecake

Posted · Makerbot Replicator 2 and X3GWriter plugin howto

Hi folks,

I'm new to Cura, but after finally upgrading my OS (I use Ubuntu Linux) I found that Makerware is no longer offered for Linux, which means suddenly I couldn't drive the 3 Replicator 2's that I have. This gave me the push I needed to get into Cura as I'd heard such great things about it.

The only problem is, is that it seems not many who use Cura have Replicator 2's, and the built in profile is for a Replicator 1 and needs some tweaking. Furthermore, the X3GWriter seems to want to detect it only as a Replicator 1, which has different numbers of steps per mm so all printed items were turning out a little bigger than they should have been.

I've written a blog about it step by step for those in the same boat as me here:
http://jessestevens.com.au/2019/10/20/configuring-cura-4-3-for-makerbot-replicator-2/

But to also make sure in case my blog disappears etc to help others I'll put the steps here:

First up, I’m using it in Ubuntu Linux (18.04) so locations of files might need to be changed for your config files as needed. This is for Cura v4.3.

Step 1: Set up your printer

I chose Makerbot Replicator from the printers page, and made a couple of changes to the settings:

xwidth: 225mm

ydepth: 145mm

xheight: 150mm

build plate shape: rectangular

origin at centre: yes

heated bed: no

heated build volume: no

gcode flavour: makerbot

I also renamed the machine name to “Replicator 2” just so I would remember.

Step 2: Start and end GCode

You’ll need some custom Gcode so here it is (picked from various places and organised after some testing).

Start Gcode:

; — start of START GCODE –
M73 P0 (enable build progress)
;this next line won’t work, but has the steps command
M92 X88.8 Y88.8 Z400 E101 ; sets steps per mm for Rep2
G90 (set positioning to absolute)
(**** begin homing ****)
G162 X Y F4000 (home XY axes maximum)