Fixed dual extruders make a mess

zet

Posted · Fixed dual extruders make a mess

Hello. I have been using Cura for over 3 years now but for the first time I now have a dual extruder system. What a disaster...

1. When other extruder is waiting to heat to printing temperature both heads are hovering over the print oozing on it and melting it

2. If I set "Standby temperature" = "Printing temperature" there is still some delay while both heads are sitting still over the print melting it but more importantly after 2-3 layers my printer halts with "Heater error" message.

I have carefully reviewed all Cura setting having anything to do with dual head printing but failed to find one allowing to move heads away from the model while heating.

Neither was I able to find out why keeping both heads at printing T results in error.

Any ideas?

14 hours ago, zet said:

I have carefully reviewed all Cura setting having anything to do with dual head printing but failed to find one allowing to move heads away from the model while heating.

If the firmware of the printer does not handle this, there are extruder (start/end) scripts in Cura that are intended to be used for these "extra stuff" that shall happen on every tool change.

Is it a custom printer or do you use one of the pre-defined multi-extruder configurations in Cura?

Extruder scripts can be created and edited in Cura machine settings (AFAIK).

It's a custom coreXY machine, Hypercube style

You mean "Extruder Start/End G-code" ? I wonder how to do this efficiently enough. If I add some code to move extruders away from the model while heating between tool change, it will make printing time quite a bit longer.

Ideally I'd like inactive extruder to reach printing T right in time, while the other head is printing.